Mililani High Student Council Wins National Award

Perhaps government can be effective.

The Mililani High School student body council was recognized March 1 by National Association of Student Councils (NASC) for its outstanding efforts.

In receiving the 2015 National Gold Council of Excellence Award, Associated Students of Mililani High School (ASMHS) was credited for its leadership, service, effectiveness, spirit and commitment to ethics.


“Receiving an NASC National Gold Council of Excellence Award reflects the highest dedication on the part of the school to providing a strong, wellrounded student council program,” said Ann Postlewaite, National Association of Secondary School Principals student programs director.

The council has been active facilitating numerous events such as quarterly pep rallies, service projects, leadership training for elementary students, spirit weeks, homecoming events and Japan school visitations.

ASMHS has partnered with several service projects, including Chinen & Arinaga’s Shoebox for the Homeless Toiletries Collection, a movie drive for Mililani YMCA and Ronald McDonald House, Mililani Town Association’s Make a Difference Day, A Million Thanks: Letters to Soldiers, Hawaii Foodbank’s Annual Food Drive, and Special Olympics Hawaii’s Preschool Play Day.

This year’s council officers are president Austin Ajimura (12), vice president Lindsey Gano (11), recording secretary Cameron Muh (12), corresponding secretary Dean Barlan (12), treasurer Alysse Nakasato (11), historian Jamie Cambra (11), activities chair Natalie Koch (11) and Hawaii State student council representative Mari Domingo (12).

“ASMHS has truly made an impact on the school, its faculty and our community,” said student activities coordinator Janet Ward-Riehle.

For the award, the council had met a variety of criteria, including a written constitution; membership in NASC; holding leadership training, teacher/staff appreciation activities, student recognition programs, school and community service projects and spirit activities; and active participation in state and national student council associations.