Waha Nui – 1/15/14

North Shore attorney and UH Law school associate dean Denise Antolini has won the 2013 John Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award from the Surfrider Foundation, Oahu chapter, for her work in environmental law, North Shore Community Land Trust and Malama Pupukea-Waimea …


Picture 1 of 4

Ace Estiamba

Elyssa Turnbull recently received the President’s Volunteer Service Award, presented in Mililani by fellow North Shore native Jalee (Fuselier) Palompo, founder of the nonprofit Ready for the Real World and also the 2010 Miss Hawaii. A homeschooled 10th-grader and singer, Elyssa performs at Crawford Home and Wahiawa hospital’s skilled nursing unit, as well as Waialua library events, and does other charity work … Mililani High’s Andrea Thayne won $750 for her performance in the Interview category of the 2014 Distinguished Young Woman of Hawaii competition. (2013 winner was Hanalani’s Chelsea Robinson) …

The Associa company Hawaii First cheered needy families at Kipapa Elementary Dec. 18 with a full gourmet turkey dinner. Each meal package was enough for 12 people, according to state Sen. Michelle Kidani (wearing her other hat of community relations director and Turkey-to-Go coordinator). In all, food, gift cards and keiki presents were distributed at the Pacific Club to 140 families, reaching a total of 1,400 people …

Jaquan Millery (Leilehua 2012) has graduated from Air Force basic training at Lackland AFB, Texas, as have Ace Estiamba (Mililani 2010) and Wahiawa’s Jomell Navales … Latest lucky slot players in downtown Las Vegas: Mililani’s Linda Ah Quin $20,000, Elaine Yee $9,473, Bret Peavy $7,300, and Myrna Kaneshiro $6,387; Wahiawa’s Jane Oda $9,139, Yoshio Matsumoto $7,200 and Armando Pajardo $7,000; and Waialua’s Delia Villanueva $4,780