Renew your subscription
Windward // Windward Oahu Waha Nui
Carol Chang

Waha Nui – 7/30/14

David Herndon

David Herndon

Kailua’s Matthew Beattie-Callahan (Iolani) has won a competitive scholarship from Washington Crossing Foundation, which encourages government service careers. Matthew has an early start on that. He’s already been a U.S. Senate page, Senate Youth Program delegate, Wounded Warriors Service Club treasurer, class president, first in district and state Science Olympiads, school newspaper editor, and had perfect scores on his math, history and reading SATs …

Oregon State University conferred degrees upon these smart Windward students in June: Kaneohe’s Nicholas Keliipuleole, Jennifer Kiyotoki, Tyler Kon and Kacie-Lyn Waters; Kailua’s Mark Maeda, Matthew O’Connell, David Fink and Hanna Smith (cum laude); and Kahuku’s Kayla-Maria Martin … Two retired Windward ministers have joined lives and moved into Pohai Nani. Barbara Grace Ripple and Rev. Samuel Cox celebrate their first wedding anniversary this year …

Kailua’s David Herndon has moved over from United Healthcare of Hawaii to be senior vice president of Health Care Finance for HMSA, where he will develop its QUEST Integration program … Jacque Shaner recently was selected as Hawaii 2014 Elementary School Assistant Principal of the Year by national and state associations of school administrators. Jacque is vice principal at Kaneohe Elementary, where she’s known as a mentoring genius for struggling teachers. She says her mission, simply put, is “to remove barriers, not matter how big or small, so that children can learn.” Her own children learned at Castle, King and Kaneohe El., where her granddaughter is currently enrolled …

Castle’s Max Hsing-Huo Vinci won the $10,000 Mamoru Takitani 2014 Distinguished Student Award from Mamoru and Aiko Takitani Foundation, while $1,000 grants went to Kahuku’s Jennifer Nacapuy, Kailua’s Georgienne Murray, Kalaheo’s Tatianna Schenk-Lee and Le Jardin Academy’s Madeline St. John … Latest lucky slot players in Boyd’s downtown Las Vegas casinos: Kaneohe’s Amy Fujita $16,000 and Akira Harada $7,944; Kailua’s Yvonne McDermott $10,050 and Brian Araki $6,000 …

This just in (not!): Seattle Pacific University’s winter dean’s list included Kailua’s Jacob Fong and Kimberly Matsui, and Kaneohe’s Caleb Ige, Kelley Anne Ige and Tracie Lynn Villanueva & & &

Hawaii Movie Showtimes
MidWeek Newsletter
2013-2014 Ilima Awards